West Bengal creates six tourism sub-committees

AvatarPosted by

West Bengal has created six tourism sub-committees for further boosting the tourism sector, which has immense potential to create employment.

In April, the state government established a state tourism task force. The sectoral sub-committees govern rural & tea tourism, eco-tourism heritage & cultural tourism, adventure tourism, river tourism along with MICE tourism. Hence, it is vital to create a sub-committee for each of the sub-sectors for a dedicated and calculated approach.

Birbaha Hansda, the Minister of State will be the chairperson for rural and tea tourism. Ambuja Neotia group chairman Harshavardhan Neotia will lead heritage and cultural tourism. Raj Basu of the Association of Conservation and Tourism will lead eco-tourism.

Besides, Raj Singh, Antara Group chairman will lead river tourism; Everester Jamling Tenzing will be leading adventure tourism and Rudra Chatterjee, Luxmi Group MD will lead the MICE sub-committee. The sub-committees will recognize place for promoting tourism, structure comprehensive action plans, comprising recommended schemes and cultivate approaches for propelling tourism.

Distinct significance would be given on private-sector involvement, counting private-sector association, growth of promotion and publicity plans, finding out of capacity-building gaps and reproduction of international best practices.
Debjit Dutta, the chairman of Indian Association of Tour Operators, on behalf of Federation of Associations in Tourism and Hospitality in four of the sub-committees, termed it as anextraordinary government enterprise, particularly after the creation of organizational task force on tourism and the signing of MoU with FAITH in April.

The post West Bengal creates six tourism sub-committees appeared first on Travel And Tour World.

Read MoreTOURISM NEWS Archives – Travel And Tour World